Lifestyle

Tips for Pulling All-Nighters

Hello everyone! I’ve been so busy with the move, I’ve barely had time to breathe, nonetheless blog. It upsets me greatly because I desperately want to get on a posting schedule, and I have several posts planned that I want to write, but I just don’t have the time. The move (see here if you don’t know what I’m talking about) begins this Saturday, May 18th and will be (hopefully) finished next Sunday, May 26th. After that, I’m expecting it will take me around a week to be completely settled in and unpacked, so expect regular posting to begin around the first week of April. I thank you all for your patience and understanding!

Anyway, since I’ve not much time to write, I decided to compile a short list of tips for you all. Although most of us don’t like to admit it, we’ve all done (or tried) an all-nighter. You know, when you’re so swamped with school, work, or getting ready for an event that you just have to stay up all night. Even though it’s unhealthy and definitely not ideal, most of us have done it. I, myself, am doing it right now to get ready for an event and to pack.

But staying up all night can be very hard, especially to those of us who are used to getting lots of beauty sleep. So here are some tips on how to stay up all night:

 

  • Cold Beverages- Caffeine is unhealthy for you. If you want to stay awake and avoid caffeine, try drinking something very cold- ice water, iced green tea, or cold fruit juice. It will give you a “jolt” without the side effects of caffeine.
  • Splash your face with water- This is, for me, the easiest way to wake up. Splashing your face with cold water a few times can easily keep you awake- and cool.
  • Stay busy- Be very careful not to overwork yourself. Take breaks when needed, but time yourself- don’t take a break longer than 20 minutes and do not lie down. If you lie down, you will probably become very sleepy, and it will be very hard for you to stay awake.
  • Open the curtains– As soon as the sun comes up, let in the sunlight. It’s hard to be sleepy with the bright sun in your face.
  • Stay energized– Although eating can make people feel sleepy, I find that I get more sleepy when I’m hungry. Snacking on something heathful and energizing, such as fresh fruit or oatmeal, will keep you awake and give you the energy you need to keep working.
  • Quick exercise– Although exercising can make you feel temporarily tired for a few minutes, the rush of endorphins will keep your energy up. When you’re about ready to take a break, do some exercising- do a dance, jumping jacks, yoga, or even simple stretching. Then, take your timed break.
  • Stay moving- Even as you are taking a break, don’t stay too still for too long. One of my favorite tricks to keep myself from falling asleep during the day is to move my feet. Although under normal circumstances, I detest fidgeting, when I am alone and tired, it’s a useful tool. If I shake my feet continuously, I can’t fall asleep. Try to do some sort of movement as you take your break- whether it’s typing, bending and unbending your knees, or clenching and unclenching your fingers.

 

With all that being said, lovelies, please be aware that I am not condoning you to stay up all night. Sleep is extremely important for your well-being, and I would love for you all to always have enough sleep every single night. However, I do understand that this is not always possible, and sometimes sleep must be postponed. So please make sure you take a nap after your all-nighter, or in the very least, go to sleep early on the following day. Best of luck, and I’ll write again soon! ♥

Leave a Reply

