Challenges · Lifestyle

List-Making Challenge – April 2016

list making.png

Long, long ago, in a land far away… just kidding.

Almost seven years ago now, I discovered a blog called The Princess Portal, run by someone I still idolize today, called Princess Skye. Skye dedicated her blog and a part of her life to teaching others how to be a princess. I have long aspired to run a blog like her’s, and to help people as much as she unknowingly helped me. Although I haven’t written much about her in detail yet, I plan to do so in the future. The site has been long shut down, and only parts of it have been archived on the internet, while other parts are forever lost. Skye herself has disappeared, and it seems that she has moved on to a different phase of her life.

In any case, one feature of The Princess Portal was the monthly challenges that Skye would write. The idea was that she would come up with a task each month that had to do somehow with the things she wrote about on her blog. She would announce the challenge at the beginning of the month, and encourage readers to comment if they wanted to take on the challenge too. Then, at the end of the month, Skye would post her results and how she fared with the challenge. Readers would also comment their results. It was a way to inspire each other to be positive and to try new things. (You can read Skye’s own words on the subject on the archived version of her first Princess Challenge from April 2008 here. It is completely coincidental that my first challenge is also for April!)

I’ve wanted to do these sort of challenges for a long time, but never had the courage to do so. I’ve decided that I would like to try to do challenges intermittently. Ideally, I would like to write them every month, but realistically I will aim to write them every other month for now.

So, without further ado, the challenge for April is… List Making!

list making 2.png

I have loved list-making for a long time now, and I find it helpful in my day to day life. Any time I need to organize my thoughts, I make a list. For someone with a chronic anxiety disorder, making a list helps quell my nerves, because it means I don’t have to worry about forgetting anything.

For short-term lists, like to-do lists, I either write them in my daily planner, or if I don’t have that with me or am in bed, I’ll use the “Notes” section on my phone. An example of this type of list would be a day-to-day to-do list or a list for a month’s goals.
But for long-term lists, I prefer to write in a separate journal, shown above, that I use only for this purpose. An example of this would be a wishlist, or a list of goals for a year or semester.

The Challenge:

  • Make a list for something relatively long-term in your life. Write it down physically on some nice paper, and make it neat. This isn’t the time to be sloppy. Consider using a pretty colored pen or some stickers. You’ll want this list to spark joy, not be an eyesore.
  • Expand on your goals. If the list contains abstract points, or things that are multi-step, make sure you write down the steps as well. For example, if your goal is to travel more, consider what steps you can take to achieve this goal.
  • If you think it may help to inspire you, or to keep your goals at the forefront of your mind, please consider hanging up your list in a place where you will see it often.
  • At the end of the month, I will make a second post with the results of my list-making efforts.
  • Consider sharing your list with me at the end of the month, or even making more lists if you find it helpful!

Here are some ideas for things you could make lists of:

  • All of the pieces in your current wardrobe. You could limit this to one style if you are a multi-style person, or you could write down everything you own if you are a minimalist.
  • A wishlist. If you are a person with many interests, or materialistic like me, consider either limiting the list to one category, or separating the list into multiple parts, like “books”, “video games”, “clothes”, and the like.
  • A list of places that you want to travel during your lifetime.
  • If you have some sort of collection, write the name of each of the items in your collection. This may take some time and research if you don’t know the names already.
  • A list of items you would like for your wardrobe – whether specific pieces or more broad items like “mint chiffon blouse”.

 

Good luck! Please let me know if you have any questions about the challenge. Enjoy your list-making!

5 thoughts on “List-Making Challenge – April 2016

    1. Thank you very much for your comment! I think that when possible, taking the time to make your lists look nice is very much worth the effort. Of course, there are times where it is just impractical to do so. If you ever get the chance to try it, I highly recommend it!

  1. I’m totally a list maker as well, they help me stay organised and clear my thoughts (that last one is especially helpful when I’m stressed). I really like this challenge., I’ll try to join. For the past few weeks I was thinking of incorporating cuter clothes into my work wardrobe, so maybe I’ll make a list of outfits I could wear for work…

    https://cupcakes-and-unicorns.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

